Facebook Twitter Instagram

Sixth Form Awards Recognise Academic Excellence

Isabella Glasson won the special award for Greatest Contribution to Sixth Form, and the award for Chemistry, at Tollbar MAT Sixth Form College Academic Awards 2022. She is pictured receiving her trophy from Tollbar Academy Principal, Nigel Whittle.

A celebration of academic excellence culminated in the award of 25 trophies to Tollbar MAT Sixth Form College students.

The annual awards night, which has not been able to take place for two years due to the pandemic, celebrated excellence and achievement in every academic subject, with staff creating a shortlist of candidates for each award and announcing the winners on the night.

The awards were each presented by Tollbar Academy Principal Nigel Whittle, following an introduction by Head of Sixth Form Simon Ritchie.  Mr Ritchie thanked the students for being a “wonderful year group.”

He said the students were unique in being the first year group not to have sat their GCSE exams. “I couldn’t be more proud of you for your commitment to your studies during the last two years,” he said. 

The Year 13 students, whose GCSE exams were cancelled in 2020 due to Covid, have been well prepared for sitting their A Levels with a series of mock exams taking place at the college. They will begin their A Level exams this week, continuing after half term.

Mr Ritchie said the commitment and fortitude that the students had shown in overcoming the difficulties thrown up by the pandemic would serve them well in whatever they chose to do in the future. 

The biggest winner on the night was student Isabella Glasson, who not only won the Academic Award for Chemistry, but also won the special award for Greatest Contribution to Sixth Form. She was described as “a student who radiates positivity and unfailing politeness and cooperation in everything she does.”

Isabella (18), who has been a Student Ambassador for the college, said she was overwhelmed by the awards. Having studied at Tollbar Academy since Year 7, she said she would never even have considered going elsewhere to study for her A Levels. 

“The teachers here have gone above and beyond to make sure that we are prepared for our A Levels and, even though it will be nerve-wracking when I sit them, I know there is nothing more I could have done to get to this point. We are like a family here, and I know it is a cliche, but if you aim high then that is the best you can do,” she said.

The awards were announced by Nicole Gabbitas and Katie Clorley (Heads of Upper and Lower Sixth Form) and Darren Green (Deputy Head of Sixth Form). Many staff attended to applaud the winners and add their congratulations to a year group that is unprecedented in experiencing such disruption to their education caused by Covid lockdowns.

A number of special awards were also presented.These included the Vanessa Robinson Award for Art and Design which was won by Zaineb Gharib; Most Improved Student which was won by Mollie Pettigrew; Best Newcomer which went to Milly Kerry; and the award for Endeavour which was won by Grace Coppock.

Twenty nine Student Ambassadors also received certificates as a thank you for their commitment to representing the college.

This year’s A Level results will be published on Thursday August 18.

Ellie-Mae Milnes receives the Sixth Form Awards trophy for Art and Design from Tollbar Academy Principal Nigel Whittle.

Lucy Epton receives the award for Biology.

Madeleine Drinkell wins the award for Business.

Joshua Wilkins receives the award for Economics.

Harvey Lidgard receives the award for English Language.

Madeleine Wainman receives the award for English Literature. 

Elijah Peprah wins the award or Geography.

Riley Gelder receives the award for Politics.

Izzy Scott wins the award for German.

Abigail Dalby receives the award for History.

Lucy Dudgeon wins the award for Mathematics.

Will Parker receives the trophy for Media.

Euan Lynch wins the award for Music.

Hannah Keenan receives the award for Philosophy.

Bethany Bradley wins the award for PE.

Josiah Gabbitas receives the award for Physics.

Samantha Reed wins the award for Psychology.

Abby Burton receives the award for Spanish.

Milly Kerry won the trophy for Best Newcomer.

Grace Coppock won the special award for Endeavour.

The 29 Sixth Form Ambassadors, who were praised for their major contribution to the Sixth Form.

 Simon Ritchie, Head of Sixth Form, with some of the award winners.

The Sixth Form Football Team celebrate on awards night.

The Tollbar MAT Sixth Form Trophies which were awarded to Year 13 students in May 2022.

Above and below: Tollbar MAT Sixth Form College students at their Awards Night 2022.

Sixth Form History students celebrate their awards with teaching staff.

Thinking Of Becoming A Teacher?

Apply Today


Mr N J Whittle

Head of Sixth Form

Mr S Ritchie